A Grief Confronted

Hello and a blessed Palm Sunday! Today’s post is a continuation of yesterday’s post.

Today, I’m at church. I didn’t feel like going; however, my wife, Crystal encouraged me to go. Right now, the minister is preaching from Matthew 26 – Jesus’s praying in the Garden of Gethsemane for God to possibly stave off the crucifixion. As the text stated, God didn’t stave it off.

I am glad that I am at worship. Yes, there are other things I could do. However, it can relate to Jesus’s solitude at a dark hour. Carrington’s passing is something that I wish never happened. Every day the awful memory of losing Carrington plays in our minds. It’s that death that drives me to solitude, to my “Garden of Gethsemane.” I too ask God why did this happen, and why did They let it happen. These are questions that still plague Crystal and I; and others who love him.

I know the grief is real. The grief that won’t go away. It is a grief we all feel one time or another in our lives. We may never know the “Why?” yet God knows.

Today’s coming to worship is an indication that grief can be confronted with worship. Our worship, like Jesus’s acceptance of God’s will for his upcoming fate, lets us know that God will always have the final word in our situations. This doesn’t mean that we’ll get over our grief-no. However, God will empower us to get through our grief to that place of peace and blessed assurance.

I pray this post is a blessing-especially those of us who are going through grief. May God continue to bless and comfort us all!

Peace!

Image: Cherry Blossom Trees at Branch Brook Park, Newark, NJ. March 16, 2024.

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in daily living, encouragement, health and healing, life, thoughts, worship and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment