Pay Attention…

underpass001For I am full of pent-up words, and the spirit within me urges me on. I am like a cask of wine without a vent, like a new wineskin ready to burst!
Job 32:18-19 (New Living Translation)

To create today, or not create today-that is the question.

Okay, I know it’s not Shakespeare, however, this is a question that I and other creatives ask on a daily basis: do I create or no?  It doesn’t matter whether you are a photographer (like me), a writer, a musician, a sculptor, or even a glass-maker.  It also doesn’t matter if you have a full-time creative vocation from which you make your living, or if you do your creating after hours (like me).  The question is there.

This question comes from the deep stirrings inside the soul to create.  Deep in one’s heart there is a “creative call” (thanks to Janice Elsheimer) that calls to us each day to express our talents.  For me, it’s photography and writing.  For another, it could be singing or poetry.  This call is for us to express on a daily basis.  When we create, we are like the Divine Him/Herself.dancers-at-duskHowever, many of us are bogged down with responsibilities: family, job, church, the list is endless.  Many of our responsibilities may be legitimate: I know I have to work to put a roof over our heads, food on the table, and medical care when needed.  Other times, we have quasi-responsibilities that we think are important, however, don’t bode the end of the world if not met. It is the latter that usually gets in the way of paying attention to those stirrings; we get too “busy” to listen.  We don’t realize that when we don’t listen, or worse, hush it with claims of “too much to do,” or “later,” we become like the wineskin in the above Scripture passage-we get full.  We full of words, notes, images, and other inspirational fodder that never gets expressed.  And although our heads may not literally “burst,” we’ll burst spiritually.  I’ve known I’ve felt restless, unfulfilled, depressed, and downright ugly.  Plus, who’s to say we may have another chance to express our creativity?  Something to think about….

words-of-wisdomTo create for the creative is like air, food, drink, and sex-things that nourish.  Even in our “busy” times, we can find time to create.  The writer can bring a notebook or digital recorder to jot down their thoughts; same for the musician with the music in their heads.  As a photographer, I bring a camera with me-even when I go to work-so I can capture any inspiration that hits me.  Three-dimensional artists can bring a sketch book to “flesh” out their ideas on paper.

cold-beerAlso, blocks for creative time are needed; time without the distraction of others.  I know if you like me and have a family, this may sound selfish, however it’s necessary.  I’ve had those times and they’ve been very productive for me.  It doesn’t have to be a days-long retreat in some mountain cabin miles from the nearest outhouse-no.  I’ve had times that only been an hour or two deep in the heart of “civilization”, yet accomplished lots in the process.  It’s a refreshing process that is important for nourishing the creative’s soul and paying attention.

steepleTo create today, or not create today-that is the question.  It’s a question that we have the opportunity to ask every day.  Let’s pay attention and answer in the affirmative.

Oh, by the way, the images featured in tonight’s post are images I’ve exhibited over the last couple of years.  Many of these were the result of paying attention to crate!

Peace.

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in creativity, growth, life, thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

