Farewell Mr. Obama…

As I write this, I am listening to President Barack Obama’s farewell speech in Chicago; an end of administration ritual going back to George Washington.  It was an interesting speech and very uplifting too.  The speech hearkened back to Mr Obama’s first campaigns in 2008 for the Presidency.  Obama spoke on what was right with America, which was refreshing in this cynical time.

The speech was a rousing hour that many an Obama supporter loved as they saw their man give his final speech; many wished that he could have another four years in the Oval Office.  However, as I could envision many Americans-especially Black Americans-eating up tonight’s speech and celebrating Mr Obama’s legacy; I have a different feeling.  I feel like the young bride who-after keeping herself sexually until marriage-on her honeymoon night asking, “Is that all there is?”

Don’t get me wrong: Mr Obama was a gentleman politician who handled his enemies with grace.  He was an excellent family man who made sure his wife and daughters best interests were seen to.  He also still saw the best in America even during our worst times.  I admit at times I’ve been harsh in my posts about Mr Obama.  However, it was all because I felt he could have done a whole lot more as President…

Mr Obama could have reined in the Wall Street banksters; letting the big banks sink or swim instead of being bailed out.   Mr Obama could have truly assisted homeowners with distressed and underwater mortgages-even if it meant a “mortgage freeze” where mortgagors would leave their mortgagees alone.  He could have closed Guantanamo Bay ASAP, instead of waiting.  Mr Obama could have engaged the Black community in regards to the police violence against innocent Blacks.  He could have put the brakes on our incessant warring in other countries instead of caving into Conservative war hawks.   So much more that Mr Obama could have done.  I know many-especially in the Black community-would disagree with my stance, however I have to tell it…

Well, Mr Obama’s taking his leave with his farewell speech.  Ten days from now, President Obama will become Citizen Obama as he passes the reins to Donald Trump.  I wish Mr Obama well and Godspeed.

Farewell Mr Obama…

Peace.

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in government, news, politics, Race, society, thoughts, world and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

