Waking Up Is Dangerous To Do

munkee_0202104551This is why it is said: “Wake up, sleeper, rise from the dead, and Christ will shine on you.”
Ephesians 5:14 (New International Version)

Waking up is dangerous.  I’m not talking about waking up from a physical nap or overnight sleep-no.  Waking up from years of nonsense and lies is dangerous.  Why?  Because when you wake up you see through the bullshit you’ve been lulled into believing-more likely from childhood up to this hour.  You’re no longer gullible to what “they” tell you to believe.

I had my awakening this past week thanks to a rather innocuous event.  As you know, I am a photographer.  This past week was the annual Newark Arts Council’s “Open Doors 2016” arts festival.  I enjoyed an opening reception, gallery openings and exhibitions, being among fellow artists, and exhibiting my photography at three venues!  Plus, I attended Photo Plus 2016 in Manhattan in the meantime.

What made the above event the catalyst in my awakening was that I was among fellow artists and arts-related professionals.  I had the chance to truly be in my own milieu feeling a spiritual as well as creative connection.  I started to feel like I would rather take pictures all day.  I got to see that being a photographer is where I belong-especially having all that exposure and networking.  I’ll take photos quicker than eat when I’m hungry and/or make love when I’m in the mood.  In fact, my Godmother said I was awakening; that when I create I’m in the Spirit.  And you know when you’re truly in the Spirit you tend to wake up.

Waking up is dangerous to do for it makes you see things as they really are.  Plus, waking up makes you address some very tough questions that you’ve avoided asking.  When you wake up, you’ll find the things that used to impress you don’t anymore (I’ve got a list). I know that down the road I will offend and scare the sleeping-may even piss ’em off.  However, I must live from my heart and (per Howard Thurman) do what makes me come alive (and not just photography).  Even now I feel a change in me that I can’t explain, but just let it take place fully.  In the past I spoke of my Core Values and living by them; which are now starting to seep through the cracks of my former facade.

In tonight’s Scripture text, Paul’s letter to the Ephesian church called them to wakefulness. He couched that verse reminding the Ephesians that everything will be exposed in the light; and that they’re to be careful to live wisely.  Wakefulness in the Bible meant one was aware spiritually; that he or she is ready and alert.  Paul also promised the Ephesians that once they’ve awakened, Christ-the Wisdom of God-will shine on them.  That God will illumine them.  Not a shabby deal I must say!

Waking us is dangerous to do for I don’t know what I will be like once I’m fully awakened.  And as I attempted to allude above, waking up can have a domino effect in other areas of my life.  However, to me it’s more dangerous to stay asleep and let others think and do for you.  Besides, I’d rather be awake and illumined to live for real than to be asleep in the dark.

Peace.

(Above image by Me)

 

 

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in creativity, life, thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

