“Black Jesus” -or- “Why I Stopped Worrying and Learned to Think For Myself”

Image result for black jesus

Note:  You may want to sit down and take deep breaths-or get a couple of drinks-before reading this.

It seems like many of my fellow African Americans are praying that another “Black Jesus” gets elected President: one named Hilary Clinton.  I see Black pastors encouraging their members to push the button for Clinton-even saying that her husband, former President Bill Clinton, was our first “Black” president (???).  I see social media posts among the African Diaspora in the US of A holding her up against Donald Trump as the better candidate.  Even if we’re questioned with Clinton’s (racial) track record, we’re quick to say that she’s the “lesser of two evils” (Hmm…I always believed evil was evil-regardless of degree…Go figure).

Let’s also remember there are Blacks who see Donald Trump as their “Black Jesus.”  There are many who’ve wearied of the Democratic side and want someone who they think will save America-despite his race record.  These Blacks want a “get tough” president who will speak his mind and show the world his middle-finger.  Yet these Blacks-when asked-give very vague responses about their endorsement.

Even before 1/20/2017, many Blacks are pining over the soon departure of their über Black Jesus, President Barack Obama (hence tonight’s image).  All over Facebook I see people saying they’d vote for the man for a third term if possible.  The man was more our Black celebrity than politician that was crafted by the Democratic party and given to us.  We took Obama as our “Black Jesus” who had his “Holy Family.” However, I was not totally impressed: seeing a man that could’ve done much more (which I covered in past posts).  Lord how I miss Shirley Chisholm and Adam Clayton Powell, Jr!

With all the money we African-Americans spend (projected to be $1.3 Trillion in 2017), we could have easily crafted a third-party politician from the grassroots that will address our-and the rest of America’s-issues.  Our monies-if funneled out of frivolous entertainment, shopping, and too much tithing-could craft a politician (or two) with enough of a war chest they could easily get in the race.  And if the electoral process was to bar our politician(s), Blacks could pull their money out of the American economy and shut it down.  We could have our celebrities, preacher, politicians, and other people of influence back this candidate.  We could literally think for ourselves and create our own leaders from among us…

However, that won’t be the case.  As long as some “Black Jesus” is given to us with the promise of “security,” we’ll go right along.  We’ll vote for someone who claims to have our issues at heart, but really don’t.  We’ll go on ahead looking to some external “Black Jesus” to take care of us as long as they’re nice to us, say they’re our friend, and toss us a few crumbs from the master’s table.  We’ll surrender our God-given power of self-thought, self-initiative, and personal liberty (which helped us in the past) for the proverbial “piece of ham and bottle of liquor.”

However, I learned to stop worrying and waiting for some “Black Jesus” and started thinking for myself.  I decided-as a follower of the real Jesus-to see past the smoke and mirrors to question issues.  I decided to go against the lemming tide and vote for those who believe in personal liberty and the real issues at hand; not for someone who tries to molly coddle us with sound bites that mean nothing.  I’m not going to sit and watch crafted “debates” which are more entertainment than information.  I will not have my vote pimped by the Democrats-which have done this to Black voters for years-just to get in and forget about me.  I am not “With Her;” and I don’t believe that Trump will “Make America Great”.  I will not be led by the nose by my party (I’m a registered Democrat) just to play along.  I will be a real American and speak my piece-whether on this blog, social media, or wherever.

Yes, I may catch grief from friends and loved ones on social media or in person.  Yes, my ethnicity may come into question; as if only “real” Blacks vote for Clinton.  Others will say that it’s my “Christian duty” to vote for Clinton (or Trump). I may be “unfriended” on Facebook too-like that’s the end of the world.  However, I will stand with my conscience and my God-given mind.

However, if we get another “Black Jesus” in the White House and it’s business as usual with Black America, I’ll be nice and listen to the complaints…

…And kindly tell them, “I told you so.”

Stop looking for some “Black (or other) Jesus” and learn to think for ourselves as the real Jesus taught.  Our future as Americans-Black or otherwise-depend on it.

Peace.

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in culture, heretics/heretical thinking, politics, Race, society, thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

