Seasons Change

20160827_202714There is a time for everything,
    and a season for every activity under the heavens
Ecclesiastes 3:1 (New International Version)

I hope you had a good summer, Dear Reader, despite all that occurred.  Mine was good, it just went too fast.  Now it’s September; and here in the US it’s Labor Day-the official “last day of Summer”.   After Tuesday, schools will start to reopen (depending on district); summer vacations will end; whatever casual days you enjoyed at work will end; and many a beach and pool will shutter until next summer.  Soon, autumn will grace the Northern Hemisphere and all that comes with it…

As a Summer baby, I hate to see the season go.  I love the warm weather, the outdoor activities-both day and night, the late sunsets, going swimming outdoors, and the rides in the country.  Although I do love the autumn; my heart is in the summer.  However the change of seasons is a part of nature in this region of the planet.  Unless I relocate to the Caribbean or Central America, I have to live with this change.

It’s not just in nature we have to deal with changing seasons; we have them in life as well.   I look at my eight year old son doing flips off the side of the pool into the water; when I remember him as a two year old in his little wading pool.  I go to a college reunion and see the changes my fellow alumni have gone through over the last 32 years.  I watch the changes in my life over the last 54 years in this universe.

The changing seasons are a part of the universal makeup.  Even the ancient writer of Ecclesiastes saw this for him/herself.  With the changing seasons, each season has a time for its thing.  My son was fine in his wading pool at two; but would think me crazy if I had him try it now at eight.  None of us at my college reunion looked and lived the way we did in the early 1980s when we studied-and lived-together.  Each season had its time.

We don’t want our seasons to change.  Like I wrote a moment ago, I don’t want to see summer end.  Many of us want things to stay the same.  Yes, it would be great if I could go back to my freshman year in college-long before marriage, mortgage, and child-when all I worried about were my studies.  Yes, it would be great to have loved ones who passed stick around a little longer.  It would be great if our kids stayed young and innocent, never facing the crap that comes with growing up.

However, the seasons must change and those things affiliated with them must come to an end.  Without changing seasons the Earth cannot renew itself and our ecology could get chaotic.  A child that does not grow is a medical problem that could prove fatal.  Staying “back in the day” could keep us from growing and renewing in our lives.  Plus, we will never be open to the new things that await us.

Seasons change, that’s a fact of life.  Let us welcome those changes so we too can grow.

Peace.

(Image: “Jerseyhenge” taken in Jersey City, NJ)

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in life, thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

