#ALL Lives Matter-A Revisit

I did a post back on January 19, 2015 called, “#ALL Lives Matter” commemorating Martin Luther King, Jr’s birthday.  This was in response to the #BlackLivesMatter statement being put out into the world.  At that time I felt that all lives matter.

However, as a Black male in America-the Number One target of many a racist cop-#AllLivesMatter is a moot point.  You see as long as Black lives don’t matter, than in the end, other lives don’t matter; therefore nullifying the statement.  I think this statement is born out of naiveté in those who do not grasp the full picture of #BlackLivesMatter.  I feel that those who use it smack of the late Rodney King’s statement, “Can’t we all just get along?”

For many outside the Black/African-American community; this is an outside-looking in situation.  For other races-especially Whites-there is not that “Could it happen to me?” question that haunts Blacks: be it police brutality; attacks by racists; or systematic racism.  The statement #AllLivesMatter-although good in intention-can be tacked onto a serious issue in America and trivialize it.  Plus, such a statement can be used by some (who really don’t give a fuck about Blacks) as a kind of countermeasure against any legitimate Black grievances.

And it’s not just Black lives that don’t matter in America.  As we saw recently, GLTBQ lives still don’t matter.  The poor-especially poor children-lives don’t matter.  So again, the point #AllLivesMatter is a moot statement.

I know there are those who will say, “C’mon Vic, don’t feel that way!”  or “You’re a Christian, shouldn’t you feel different?”  Please understand, this is not being mean but being real.  As the Black father of a Black son who is concerned for both our lives, I see things in a different light.

#ALLlivesmatter?  Sounds nice.  However, until Black lives matter (and the lives of those I mentioned), it’s a moot point.  That’s my revisit.

Peace.

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in culture, Race, relationships and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

