Fourth of July Thoughts-or-Day Is Dying in the West

O house of Israel, cannot I do with you as this potter? saith the Lord. Behold, as the clay is in the potter’s hand, so are ye in mine hand, O house of Israel.
At what instant I shall speak concerning a nation, and concerning a kingdom, to pluck up, and to pull down, and to destroy it;
If that nation, against whom I have pronounced, turn from their evil, I will repent of the evil that I thought to do unto them.
Jeremiah 18:6-8 (King James Version)

When I was younger, my old church used to have youth retreats that were usually held during the Fourth of July Holiday. Each evening we had vesper or an end of day service-to close out our day. When I reviewed the hymnal, I scanned the evening hymns sung on such occasions. One hymn I noticed was, “Day is Dying in the West,”which spoke about our devotion to God as the day came to a close.

As we celebrate Independence Day/Fourth of July, I wonder if the above title is more of a prediction than the title of a hymn. With the recent “Brexit”vote with England choosing to exit the European Union (and other nations thinking the same), the recent terrorist attack in Istanbul, and the current farce of a Presidential election in the United States are we seeing the West slowly destabilizing?

We see the Religious Right trying to shore up its brand of X-tianity in an attempt to gain political power  (a growing effort in futility). Europe is having a refugee crisis that’s eating away at European politics and society. Fears of a new financial crisis flood the Internet, and you wonder if there’s any validity to such fears.

Plus, if you factor in the evils done by the West: slavery, racism, genocide, wars under false flag, the destruction of African and Asian resources, and Xtian “missionary work”, the prognosis points in the “dying” direction.

Today’s Scripture was God’s reminder through the prophet Jeremiah that He/She determines the fate of nations by the way their people act.  I believe with the West, God is getting tired of the West’s nonsense. And like with Israel of old, God is trying to give the West a chance with these “warning shots” we see in the news.  If the West truly gets it act together, good.  If not, God could shut the whole thing down in a heartbeat.

Could we say that, “day is dying in the West”? Are we seeing the precursors to the decline of Western Civilization? As we celebrate the Fourth of July here in the US, and ponder the events of our day, this is a question to think about.

I hope this is not the case, and this is just my thoughts.  However, when we have seen past civilizations come and go, it makes you think.

Peace.

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in history, politics, society, thoughts, world and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

