You Can’t Make This Stuff Up

gary johnson

Understand, ye brutish among the people: and ye fools, when will ye be wise?  Psalm 94:8 (King James Version)

In 2012, I posted “Don’t Know Whether to Laugh or Cry” which dealt with the circus of that year’s Presidential campaign involving President Obama and Governor Mitt Romney (MA).  Fast forward to this year, we have another illustrious bunch of candidates ready to take on the mantle of the US Presidency.  On the Democratic side we have former Senator Hilary Clinton (NY), who was both a former First Lady and Secretary of State; and we have Senator Bernie Sanders (VT).  On the Republican side, we have businessman Donald Trump.  We also have a fast growing Libertarian candidate, former Governor Gary Johnson (NM).  And don’t forget the myriad “third party” candidates all itching for the Presidency.

That being said, I’ll start with the Democrats.  Clinton wants to return to 1600 Pennsylvania Ave in the worst way.  Being a former First Lady and Secretary of State, Clinton’s bitten by the White House Bug and is ready to return.  However, there is enough dirty water that’s gone under the historical bridge for me to want another Clinton in the White House.

With Sanders, he looks like he needs to sit down a spell.  To me he appears a little bit clueless when it comes to the rigors he’d face if elected.  The Presidency can age a person in no time flat with all the responsibilities and stresses with the job.  He may be a nice chap and all that, however he seems a little too nice for a job you have to be a bastard at times for.

Speaking of bastards, we now go to the lone Republican, Donald Trump.  Trump-despite his billions-has shown the underbelly of American politics: racism, xenophobia; sexism; and a whole host of ills.  He has a following that believes he’ll “Make America Great,” who doesn’t realize that he’ll stab such following in the back.  I’ve written about Trump in a recent post, so I won’t go any further.

When I watch an even bigger circus with the three main candidates, I can’t believe it.  I watch Blacks snuggle up to Clinton-despite some of the anti-Black policies that occurred under her husband’s watch as President (1992-2000).  Then there are those who champion around Sanders-especially Blacks and Jews-are looking for a socialized America with Scandinavian countries as the model.  Let’s not forget those Whites who are spewing their venom through Trump whilst listening to hollow promises.

Although I don’t watch the news all the time, and limit my social media exposure, what I’ve seen from this campaign is almost surreal: you just can’t make this stuff up.  And tonight’s Scripture talks to these candidates who are both brutal and foolish; when will they be wise?  When will these three wise up and tackle the issues at hand instead of the sound bites and empty promises?

Next month here in Jersey, we have the primaries.  Then this summer, we have the party conventions as each party nominates their hopeful for November (and beyond).  I feel the next six months are going be weirder as we progress.

Like I said, you can’t make this stuff up.  Peace.

P.S.: Now mind you, I did not include Gary Johnson in the mix.  The reason is quite simple (and I’m a registered Democrat): I believe Johnson’s the best candidate for the job.  “What, a Libertarian at 1600?  Surely you jest!” You may say.  However, after what I’ve seen over the last 20 years: continuation of Reagan-era drug laws; increased surveillance; merging of Church and State; a flawed foreign policy; and other issues, I believe it’s time for a much needed change.

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in news, politics, thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

