“The Day After” or “What is Man/Woman?”

20160124_111826What is man, that thou art mindful of him? and the son of man, that thou visitest him?  Psalm 8:4 (King James Version)

Today, I-along with millions along the Northeastern US-dug ourselves out of two feet of snow (give or take some inches) thanks to Winter Storm Jonas.  For basically 24 hours-with the worst being yesterday-a blizzard struck the Newark area.  Jonas was so intense that it was seen from the International Space Station.  High winds and blinding snow crippled cities from Virginia up to New York City as streets were buried in snow.  As I write this, social media is abuzz with complaints about city governments poor handling-especially in Newark and NYC.  Virginia is already facing a very expensive snow removal bill.  Thankfully, my town has done a fair job in removing snow so at least I can go down my street.  In fact, the post’s picture was taken outside my front door before my son, Carrington and I ventured outside.

And to think this is only January; with February and March to follow.

Such a storm reminds us how puny we can be next to the sheer power of nature.  It collapsed the flat roof of a local Trader Joe’s I shop at.  It put some parts of New Jersey and New York on travel bans.  It flooded shore communities with icy water (and ice).  For now, my neck of the woods is slowly coming to grips with the magnitude of such a storm while slowly trying to get back on its feet.  And there were thousands who lost power, numbers of which were transferred to shelters for light and heat.

Tonight’s Scripture is from Psalm 8, where the composer tells of God’s greatness expressed through nature and the cosmos.  The psalm also asked the above question about who we are in the scheme of things.  And even though the writer tells how we’re special-just below the angels-I wonder “what is man/woman”?  Who are we compared to the cosmos, to nature?  What power do we have compared to the greater Universe?  Despite our technology, business savvy, and military power, we still cannot stand against a storm like Jonas.  I’ve posed this time and again-especially after Hurricane Sandy in 2012.  We are no match-despite what the religions say about us-to the power of nature.  We can only watch helpless as our city streets are at a standstill and our daily way of life is interrupted.

The winter here in the Northeast is still young.  I hope this would be a one-hit wonder regarding winter storms, however that remains to be seen.  All I know is when I see this it makes me wonder who we are compared to nature and the Universe.

For all those who read this that have been impacted by Winter Storm Jonas, I pray that you are safe and warm.  Thank God all is well on my end.

Peace.

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in news, thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

