A Greater Outpouring Or A Greater Awareness?

Ever been to a praise and worship service where you see people crying out for more of the Holy Spirit?  I mean people falling prostrate or stretching their arms out as if they were expecting something to fall from the sky?  You hear these people crying out for more: more Holy Spirit; greater anointing; fresh wind; fresh anointing; etc.   I’ve seen this on retreats, vespers, and Sunday morning devotional moments before the actual service.  We even go as far as asking God to “tabernacle” or “sit with us for awhile” in our worship invocations.  Please understand that I too have been one of those who’ve done the asking, the falling prostrate, and the crying out.

However, as I continue on this road trip called the Christian journey, I wonder if instead of a greater outpouring of the Holy Spirit, we need a greater awareness?  Oh, I see I got your attention; made you put down that third helping of Aunt Toodle’s sweet potato pie!  That’s right, do we need a greater awareness of God’s spirit?  You see my friends, we act as if God is “out there” in the sky; while we’re down here on Earth.  We act as if we have to pull God’s coattails to get His/Her attention and hope He/She will deign to stop by our meetings.  Or we act as if God’s spirit/anointing/power is like gassing up the family car; we fill it at the gas station, however it will run out after so much driving.

I want to focus on having a greater awareness of God’s Spirit/anointing/power.  I believe God is all about us; His/Her presence is closer than our very breath.  This is what the ancient Christian mystics believed and taught.  You see, we need to tune our spiritual antennas to the Divine frequency that’s here.   To me, God’s like the ocean-eternal and all-encompassing; and we need to just be open to this realization.  If we truly learn to tap into the Divine all the time-not just at “meeting time” and live like Jesus lived-totally immersed in the Divine.  To realize that we and the Father/Mother are one-like Jesus.  Oh what a day that will be!  We’ll see healing, anointing, deliverance, enlightenment, and miracles that would knock our socks off.  We will truly live out and bring forth the Kingdom/Queendom of God!

I know we’re coming up to Advent-the time of waiting for the Christ’s coming to Earth.  However, we don’t have to wait for God’s power to “come down” to us here.  God’s power is here and ready to work in and through us…

If only we have a greater awareness.  Peace!

 

 

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in Christianity, heretics/heretical thinking, mysticism, religion, spirituality, worship and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

