No Gold Stars For Kim

He also told this parable to some who trusted in themselves that they were righteous, and treated others with contempt: 10 “Two men went up into the temple to pray, one a Pharisee and the other a tax collector. 11 The Pharisee, standing by himself, prayed[a] thus: ‘God, I thank you that I am not like other men, extortioners, unjust, adulterers, or even like this tax collector. 12 I fast twice a week; I give tithes of all that I get.’ 13 But the tax collector, standing far off, would not even lift up his eyes to heaven, but beat his breast, saying, ‘God, be merciful to me, a sinner!’ 14 I tell you, this man went down to his house justified, rather than the other. For everyone who exalts himself will be humbled, but the one who humbles himself will be exalted.”
Luke 18:9-14 (English Standard Version)

I know some of you anti same-sex marriage fundagelicals are out there doing a happy dance that Rowan County, Kentucky clerk, Kim Davis was released from jail for not issuing marriage licenses to same-sex couples looking to marry.  I know many of you are behind her standing up for her “Christian convictions” regarding what the Bible says about the subject as well.  Some of you probably feel like poor ol’ Kim is being persecuted for her beliefs.

Although I am part of the Boardinghouse of Faith, Kim ain’t getting any Gold Stars from me.  Kim is nothing more than a whiny X-tian who wants to shove her Bible into matters of civic affairs; instead of keeping the two separate.  She decided to defy the people who pay her-including the taxpayers-and not issue marriage licenses to same-sex couples. To me, the heifer should have been sacked on the spot; especially since there were underlings willing to do the job.  No, she garnered her “15 minutes of fame” (thanks Andy Warhol) by acting the fool.

Kim reminds me of the parable Jesus preached above.  Kim is like the self-righteous pharisee who compared himself to others and paraded his “goodness” in front of others; the exact thing Kim was doing.  This was the shit Jesus warned about; along with his warnings regarding divorce and remarriage-what Kim did herself.  Kim never took time for any introspection like the publican in the parable; maybe she could have seen things differently.  However, Kim will never be justified-no matter the support she will receive.

No gold stars for Kim Davis, or for anyone else of her ilk.

Peace.

 

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in Christianity, news, sex, thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

