“I Am Going To Die”

The people who walked in darkness
Have seen a great light;
Those who dwelt in the land of the shadow of death,
Upon them a light has shined.
Isaiah 9:2

in a moment, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trumpet. For the trumpet will sound, and the dead will be raised incorruptible, and we shall be changed.
I Corinthians 15:52 (Both from the New King James Version)

Back in the winter, I had an interesting dream.  I was being driven around in London at the break of day-before people came out into the streets.  I was talking to those in the vehicle with me, telling them that I was going to die on that particular day.  I was surprisingly calm about it, no hint of fear whatsoever.  In fact, my only “concern”was the welfare of my wife and son after I departed.  Shortly thereafter, I woke up.

Needless to say, the dream stuck with me.  My wife, upon hearing about it, told me that it meant I was going to live for a long time.  Later that day, I accessed a dream interpretation site which said:

To dream of your own death indicates a transitional phase in your life.  You are becoming more enlightened or spiritual.  Alternately, you are trying desperately to escape the demands of your daily life.

First of all, let me say that if it were “Door Number Two,” my dream would have been in the Caribbean with me on a hammock on the beach, waited upon by two tropical lovelies…That’s another story altogether!

However, I believe “Door Number One” might be the case.  Over the last few-if not several-months, I feel my spiritual DNA being re-written.  Teachings I grew up with over the years I’m questioning.  Despite a desire for success and life’s finer things, part of me is not impressed with it.  I find myself detaching from “conventional wisdom.”

I feel like I’m not myself anymore.  It’s as if another person is moving into my space.  It’s as if an old part of me is “dying” while a new part of me is coming into being.  Like the passage in Isaiah, I see the light shining on me in the midst of my “death;” and Paul’s assurance in Corinthians that I am changing into something newer and better before my eyes.

I don’t know what the end product will be.  However, I pray that it will lead me to that place where the Divine is waiting for me.

To be continued…

Peace.

(Note: Image of Paradise Lake in Bushkill, PA taken at dawn, April 18, 2013.  Taken by Me)

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in growth, life, spirituality, thoughts, world. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

