On Meditation

Many Christians have a hard time wrapping their religious minds around meditation.  They think it’s allowing evil thoughts to come into one’s life (or the devil); that it’s “not Christian” (then again what is truly “Christian”); or they just blow it off as unimportant.  However, I’m discovering that meditation is sorely needed by Christians-especially the Fundagelical types here in the West-with all the spiritual baggage we carry.

Now when it comes to meditation, I found that learning to drive manual shift was easier.  I really had no time or inclination to meditate.  However, in attempts to enhance my road trip here on Earth, I realize that part of my travel kit would have to be meditation.  In fact, the Psalms have verses where the psalmists speak of meditating on Scripture.  Slowly, yet surely, I’m incorporating meditation into my practices.

For those who want to try meditating, yet find it as daunting as piloting an airliner, the attached video should put your mind at ease.  I’m finding this video very helpful and takes the “worries” out of meditation.

In fact, in contrast to the Fundagelical worries about meditation being in “league with the devil,” I find meditation puts me in closer with the Divine.  So many Fundagelicals walk around and bemoan all the issues in their lives because they don’t meditate.  Meditation helps you to slow down, to get into a whole different consciousness than normal; shit, may even help you feel better.  This may even start to tone down our violent tendencies we tend to embrace all too quickly.

I’m not saying you “ought” to meditate-your spiritual road trip’s different than mine.  However, if you thought about it, maybe it’s something you would want to consider.

Peace!

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in Christianity, growth, heretics/heretical thinking, life, spirituality, thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

