Swimming Into Deep Waters

He answered and said unto them, Because it is given unto you to know the mysteries of the kingdom of heaven, but to them it is not given.  Matthew 13:11 (KJV)

My son, Carrington completed another summer at day camp.  One of his favorite activities is swimming at the pool.  Carrington would “regale” us with his exploits about swimming into the deep end sans life jacket.  If so, this little guy beat me by a few years before I myself ventured into a pool’s deep end.  However, once I started swimming in the deep end I was there all the time. 

I’m started to venture into other deep waters myself these days.  I’ve been interested in the esoteric meaning of Scripture.  For a long time I’ve felt that the Bible was saying more than what I’ve learned during my Christian roadtrip. I’ve also studied various sites and a couple of books that there are two types of Christianity. 

The first type is the exoteric where Scripture is taken literally and is considered history.  Stories like the Creation, Flood, Exodus, Virgin Birth are all considered real events.  This is the kind of Christianity prevalent in the Christian world; your typical “Sunday morning” variant. 

The second variant that I’ve mentioned earlier is the esoteric.  Here, Scripture is figurative and has a hidden meaning that can be discovered if one is willing to take the time.  The stories in the Bible are all internal events that happen to us-symbols of our internal states; not so much actual history.  In fact, the argument for esoteric Christianity could be found in Scripture itself; the texts in this post are examples.

Let a man so account of us, as of the ministers of Christ, and stewards of the mysteries of God.  1 Corinthians 4:1 (KJV)

Esoteric Christianity is also seen in Gnostic Christianity, which has given the Church in general fits for centuries. I sometimes wonder if the esoteric variant was the first true Christianity which was later squashed into almost non-existence by the institutionalized Church called “Christianity” founded by Constantine the Great in the 4th Century CE.

I don’t know where my swimming will take me.  However, I’m confident that I won’t drown.  I think I may discover a whole new shore when I’m said and done.

Peace!

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

