What I Believe: Masculinity

When David’s time to die drew near, he commanded Solomon his son, saying, “I am about to go the way of all the earth. Be strong, and show yourself a man, and keep the charge of the Lord your God, walking in his ways and keeping his statutes, his commandments, his rules, and his testimonies, as it is written in the Law of Moses, that you may prosper in all that you do and wherever you turn  1 Kings 2:1-3 (English Standard Version)

Happy Summer!  As I quickly approach my 52nd Birthday, I realize that there are things I am constantly discovering (or rediscovering) about myself and life.  In 2012, I shared with you my 16 Core Values.  However, I see Number 17’s Value of Masculinity as a “backbone” value that works with the “nucleus” value of Love.  I know many of you may wince or be offended at what I’m about to post, however it is what it is.

As a man,  I embrace the Divine Masculine and celebrate my my masculine spirit without seeking permission, shame or fear.  I am a protector, provider, pro-creator, nurturer, and initiator.  I am the custodian of all things masculine to pass onto my son and other young males.  I am also the builder, the sower, the mentor, and the craftsman of my photography. I am the leader of my home-not the emperor or dictator.  I look to the Divine for strength and guidance.  I strive to lead by example, which is not easy at times.  However, I also lead with love-as God calls us to lead.

I am the Divine Warrior.  I fight for that which is eternal: integrity, love, creativity, spirituality and justice.  I will live-and one day die-with honor. I am not the hyper-masculine male who fights just to fight, or to prove something since a real man doesn’t have to prove a thing.  My manhood is not defined by my possessions, my job, my physical/sexual prowess, or my social circles.  For there are many males who “have it all,” yet have not proved themselves manly.

There are many who find masculinity something to be demonized, which is partially understandable:  We have a hyper-masculine culture of war, gang lifestyles, overemphasis on athleticism, hunger for power and wealth at the expense of others, patriarchal mindset, objectification, and an idolized violence.  And because of this hyper-masculinity, we see these people wanting men to tone down: to be androgynous, metro-sexual, or “soft/sensitive” as not to frighten or “offend” others.  However either extreme does not speak to my masculine spirit; in fact they don’t serve it at all.

I choose to live in Divine integrity as David expressed to Solomon above-that what makes me a man.  When I live as such, all the other positive qualities of masculinity will flow forth.  There, the Divine Masculine embraces me, empowers me, and leads me as I work to be a leader myself.  I do not compromise my other Core Values with Masculinity, as some would think.  No, on the other hand, I strengthen them.

In a society where it seem like there are only “a few good men” left, I embrace the Divine Masculine.  And in turn celebrate my masculinity.

Peace!

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in life, spirituality, thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

