Give Me Jesus

jesus saves.tifI am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.  
John 10:10b (21st Century King James Version)

Thanks to djb7771db when he commented on “When Soul Is Lost” and said “gimme Jesus” in his comment.  Those two words inspired this post.

The three words, “Give Me Jesus” are found in two popular pieces of sacred music.  One is an old Spiritual titled, “Give Me Jesus;” the second is in a line from “I Have Decided to Follow Jesus.”  However my friends, tonight’s Lenten question is: What do we mean by “Give Me Jesus?”  If we were to read the lyrics of both aforementioned songs, the writers tell us their desire for Jesus over the “world”.  That everyone else can have the whole world (and all that’s in it), but give the person Jesus.  Do we take Jesus like something we order for dinner?  Do we have him handed over to us? Is this what this means?

No.  I believe that it’s the way of Jesus we desire.  It’s his example of Divine living that we want for our lives.  Jesus was infused with the Divine so much so that you couldn’t tell where one ended and the other began.  When you look at Jesus in the Gospels, we see love, life, justice, mercy, healing, deliverance, intimacy, devotion with the Divine…qualities that are not just to be admired, but emulated.

It’s the abundant life Jesus brought from God to man that we want to be given.  The “world” with all its illusory crap others can have-if they want.  The world with all its schemes, lies, illusions, facades, etc don’t add up for a follower of Jesus.  No, give me the real deal with Jesus; to be saved from the shallow and ego-driven life that goes nowhere and fast.  Give me the Divinely-infused life so I can too say, “I and the Father are one” like Jesus did (ref. John 10:30).  I want the eyes open and being ever present like Jesus was-showing us how to make each of our moments holy moments.  To live with Godly wisdom, knowledge, and understanding; not the “conventional wisdom” of the world that changes with the weather.  Give me the life that others can see God in me…

…Give me Jesus.

“Give me Jesus.”  Let that be our heart’s desire-not just during Lent, but for life.

Grace and Peace.

*Above image of Market Street Mission (Morristown, NJ) taken with a Polaroid 635CL Supercolor and Black and White 600 film.

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in Christianity, growth, life, spirituality, worship and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

