The Show So Far*

At the Corner, where do we go?  (Image by Me)

At the Corner, where do we go? (Image by Me)

Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended it, but this one thing I do: forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before,

I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.
Philippians 3:13-14 (21st Century King James Version)

*Courtesy of Monty Python

It’s the midway point of the Lenten Season, and it’s been quite a ride so far.  We started Lent with Russia annexing the Ukraine despite Western protests, a missing Malaysian airliner,  a political scandal here in New Jersey that is biting our governor in the butt, and other sunny tidbits of news to make one’s day.

However-thank God-we made it thus far.  I pray that your Lent has been a blessed one; that it’s been an enlightening and spiritually fulfilling one.  For me, it has-especially being blessed to write these Lenten-themed posts for you.  I pray they’ve been a blessing.

Tonight’s text kept jumping out at me as I was searching for Scripture.  I found it to be where a lot of us are in our Lenten journey (or could be with God’s help).  Although Paul was referring to his letting go of his past life as a Pharisee to the church at Philippi, Paul could be talking to us today.  What things behind us are we learning to forget?  To consign them to the junk pile of our souls?  What is God telling you to forget, to jettison?

What are we reaching for?  For Paul it was, “the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus”-his heavenly reward.  What about us in Lent 2014?  We can reach for wholeness, living life fully, loving wastefully even to the unlovable, reach for being salt and light in our world, to comfort, to liberate, to engage our world, to contend for the faith in our living…to be children of our Father/Mother in Heaven.  Those were the things that were Jesus here on Earth as he expressed the Divine.  Who says we can’t do the same today?

As we begin the second half of Lent, let’s remember Paul’s words.  Let’s forget that which is behind, and let’s reach for what God has for us.

Grace and Peace.

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in growth, thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

