Running Thoughts XIV: Takin’ It Down a Notch

2013-10-18 09.34.30

You mean I got to slow it down?

I ran with MapMyRun! Distance: 2.77mi, time: 51:49, pace: 18:43min/mi, speed: 3.21mi/h.  http://mapmyrun.com/workout/411782243

Yesterday morning, I did a 3.5-mile trail run at Watchung Reservation.  It was a tough yet exhilarating experience, being able to achieve such a distance.  This morning, I was raring to go again and push it even more.

However, my body had a whole different agenda.  At times I wanted to pour it on, my legs were like, “No way!”.  Now wait a minute!  I was just recently talking about “no compromise” when it comes to running and going the extra mile!  I should have pushed myself harder! However, I had to remind myself that my body was indeed genuinely tired.  It wasn’t laziness; instead it was the fact that I didn’t have a day to rest in between running days since my body’s still acclimatizing to the morning trail run.  I usually run Monday-Wednesday-Friday, with Tuesday and Thursday for other activities. So this morning, I wound up doing a trail trot/walk with a bit of running.

As I walked, I realized that while it’s good to have a “no compromise-go the extra mile” attitude, it’s also important not to punish the body.  I’m learning to work with my body, not work it over.  I find that I may have days I have to slow it down and take it down a notch so my body can recover from long and kick-ass runs.  This helps my body recharge itself for the next run, where I can really pour it on.  This will also help me from tiring too easy, and quite possibly, quitting altogether.

So to my fellow runners, walkers, joggers, and hikers out there: give it your best by going that extra mile.  However, at the same time, remember what I said above and slow it down at times to help your body recover for that next (kick ass) run.

Peace.

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in running, thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

