Before I Die…

image

And Israel said, “I’m convinced! My son Joseph is still alive. I will go and see him before I die.”….Israel said to Joseph, “Now I am ready to die, since I have seen for myself that you are still alive.” Genesis 45:28; 46:30 (New International Version)

I’m currently “gallery sitting” a gallery space at 85 Market Street here in Newark for the Newark Arts Council.

At this space there is an interactive piece consisting of three blackboards (see image above). On these blackboards, for a total of 84 times, are the words, “Before I die I want to_____”.  Visitors to this space have the opportunity to take chalk and write their desires. Among the desires written were these notable ones:
“…have my life’s purpose fulfilled.”
“…own my own business.”
“…swim with a great white.”
“…redefine love.” (I liked this one)
“…perform in front of a crowd.”
“…create beautiful memories for others to remember.”

My desire? I wrote, “…live by my values and in my vibe; to be authentic.” These are themes that run through my blog that you can read at your leisure if you want more detail.

You see? Where all going to die someday. The issue is not so much when we die; it’s what do we want to do before we die? What are our deepest desires we want to manifest in our lives before “lights out”?

In the opening text, we see Jacob (now called Israel) hearing the news that his missing-and-presumed dead son, Joseph is alive-and doing quite well-in Egypt. Jacob, who had given up hope on Joseph’s state, was again full of hope and was determined to see his son once more before he died (which he did).

Before you die, what do you want to do? What is that burning yearning inside you want to manifest? Manifest that desire now! So when it’s you’re time, you can be like Jacob and be ready to die.

Peace!

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in life, thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Before I Die…

  1. TravelingMad says:

    Cool post. I was also at this event. It was really cool. Good art. Good people. Good food. I also took a pic of the boards. A couple of my favorites were, “make a difference” and “take my mom to Europe.” I have done the latter and hoping that I am also making a difference in someone’s life.

Leave a Reply

