Running Thoughts XI: Endurance

image

Ecclesiastes 9:11 KJV

I returned, and saw under the sun, that the race is not to the swift, nor the battle to the strong, neither yet bread to the wise, nor yet riches to men of understanding, nor yet favour to men of skill; but time and chance happeneth to them all.

I ran with MapMyRun! Distance: 1.50mi, time: 27:08, pace: 18:06min/mi, speed: 3.32mi/h.
http://mapmyrun.com/workout/402999713

As I’ve been doing my morning trail runs, I keep track of both time and distance. This gives me an idea on how well I’m doing, and to see if I’ve made any progress.

However, I feel frustration creeping up in me. I still get winded at times. I also feel as of I haven’t lost any weight. I wonder what’s wrong.

Yesterday at church, one of the Brothers-who’s also started a running program-advised me that it will take time; that I’ll feel the increased energy at first, then I’ll notice it on the outside. He also concurred with me that my body is again having to get used to my program.

Despite it all, I’m learning endurance. It’s endurance, not speed or strength that helps. Many of us can have a strong and fast start, however we may burn out too soon. Endurance carries me for the long haul and empowers me to keep going.

And it’s that endurance that spills over from the trail onto real life. Endurance to handle life’s issues without losing your step. That’s what I need to build up right now to handle the trail run of life
It’s endurance that will help us keep going when we want to quit.

And when we have endurance, speed and strength will follow behind.

Peace!

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in life, running, thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

