Running Thoughts X: Follow Instructions

I ran with MapMyRun! Distance: 1.48mi, time: 27:43, pace: 18:41min/mi, speed: 3.21mi/h.
http://mapmyrun.com/workout/400778061

Take fast hold of instruction; let her not go: keep her; for she is thy life. Proverbs 4:13 (King James Version)

Somewhere in our early running life, we were given instructions how to run/jog/hike.  We were given instructions on form-how to run; on breathing so we don’t get winded too soon; pre-and post-running stretches to prevent running-related injuries; what to wear for maximum comfort and foot support; what/what not to eat before and after a run; hydration with water to keep you from dehydration; and, where to run for safety.  Our instructions may have come from a track coach, gym teacher, book, or online resource.  We all had instruction in one way or another.

Even when I trail run, I follow instructions.  The “instructions” of the trail marker so I stay on course and not veer off into the woods.  The “instruction” of using a stopwatch to pace my time so I don’t spend all day in the woods (a tempting proposition-especially on a gorgeous fall morning); the “instruction” of my body so I don’t overexert myself and put a damper on my running; and the “instruction” of Nature-temperature, skies, animals I might encounter.

For the record, I’m not trying to sound preachy or patriarchal-God knows I can’t stand that.  And although instructions may be a drag, the instructions we’ve received about running has helped us to have optimal running time, less injuries, better chances of getting and staying fit, and our own personal safety.  These instructions are experiences other runners and/or their doctors had over the years.  When you run, you take on those instructions; and may even have your own set of “instructions” you develop over time.  These serve us well as we enjoy our running experience.  The above Proverbs text tells us of the importance of instructions; how some instructions could even save our lives.  God knows what instructions I’ve received over the years helped me!

Like me, you may not always like getting instructions.  I’m one who just wants to tear into something.  However, a little instruction can go a long way.  Plus, I’ve paid-sometimes big-for not following instructions.  And in life, like in running, we need to understand that following instructions could very well save our lives in certain situations.  We need to understand that we don’t have all the answers. That God gives us instructions, and not just in the Bible.  We’re taught through life, nature, our own intuition, other people, etc.

And when we learn, we grow.  And as we grow, we can share from our experiences.  Then we too will impart instructions to others, in running and in life itself.

Peace!

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in life, running, thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

