“I Just Want To Fly”*

image*Courtesy of Sugar Ray

And I said, Oh that I had wings like a dove! for then would I fly away, and be at rest.  Psalms 55:6 (King James Version)

Life can be a blip at times. So much is demanded of you that you feel as if you’re pulled in a million different directions. Home, work, church, and other areas of your life call on you; and there is no rest in sight. And you feel like if just “one more thing” comes your way, you’ll scream, jump out the window, and run away.

Wouldn’t it be nice if we could sometimes just get away from it all? Just to fly away to where we can be at rest-alone?

I took the title of this post from the group, Sugar Ray’s song, “I Just Want To Fly” that came out in the late 1990s.  It used to be my response when things got crazy at times.  The text from Psalms was part of a complaint by the psalmist who was troubled by issues in his (or her) life and wanted to get away from them all so he/she could be at rest.  The image above was a photo I took of a plane flying over Newark last June.  All related to the subject of flight.

There are times we yearn to distance ourselves from life’s issues. I mean really distance ourselves. If you never felt like this, you are quite fortunate and I hope that you’re spared this.  However, for the most of us, life can become so crazy you just want to fly away.  God knows I just want to grow wings and take to the air-fly away to some restful place where I can be alone and rest (and not the grave either).  I get tired myself of the pulls of life’s demands.  Even now I feel like taffy pulled in different directions.

To some this may sound like we’re wimping out-especially to those “tough” Christians who believe that we supposed to “suffer” to “prove” our faith. However, we’re all human and we have these moments where we feel this way-regardless of one’s spiritual stripe.  We all want to get away, to fly away, from it all…

…and be at rest.  Even if just for a moment…

…Peace.

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in life, thoughts, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

