At Night

In thoughts from the visions of the night, when deep sleep falleth on men  Job 4:13 (King James Version)

I’m one of those people who function better after the sun goes down.  I’m no “happy perky morning person”.  No, I’m definitely a nightowl who will hiss at sunlight (smile).  In fact, I was born at night; and although I don’t subscribe to the Zodiac my astrological body is the Moon (Cancer).  I love cats (nocturnal creatures). You may call me a ghoul, a vampire, or a werewolf, however I am a child of the night.

ImageWhen I was young, I’d stay up late and watch TV, or later go for walks at night.  Some of my best classes were in the evening. I would party until the wee hours of the morning.  I would do a lot of night shooting (photography) pretty much up to the time I had my son.  Even today, I’d read when I would sleep; or as now, sitting at the computer blogging, writing, or some photographic task.

To me, the night is an inspirational time for me.  Usually, I’m to myself with my family asleep.  I can let my mind wander freely since the duties of the day that need my attention are over.  I can express that which I may have thought about during the day, yet couldn’t due to work, family, or church constraints on my time.  Some of my best photography was when after the sun went down.

Many of us don’t like the night.  We want the predictable daylight with it’s warm and sunny glow, lighting the way for us.  Our religions show night (dark) as evil or dreadful; whereas the day (light) was good and celebrated.  I believe that this hearkens back to our prehistoric times when we never ventured past the glow of our campfires for fear of what was beyond.  Even today the night has too much mystery and unpredictable.   Even our familiar surroundings change when night falls.

Yet the night is also silent.  It’s when the world winds down to rest; and its vibes take it down a notch.  At night, a different song is sung all about us if we’re willing to listen  In nature, the animals become more muted and the wind blows differently.  And it’s in this silence-this “silent night”-I can become attuned to my creative side.  Thus, my love for the night.

“Night time is the right time?” As per Nappy Brown?  To me it is.

Peace!

Above Image: Walker in Washington Square Park, New York City.  Image and after-effects by Me, February 2013.

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in creativity, life, thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

