Florida Reflections

Psalms 49:1-3 ESV

Hear this, all peoples! Give ear, all inhabitants of the world, both low and high, rich and poor together! My mouth shall speak wisdom; the meditation of my heart shall be understanding.

My son, Carrington and I are in Florida visiting my ailing mother; and for me to take care of some business. The last time I was down here was in August 2011 for my father’s funeral.

Being in Florida-especially in the Miami/Hollywood/Fort Lauderdale area-is quite the experience. I see all kinds as I drive down the streets. I’ve seen ritzy neighborhoods just minutes from the ‘ hoods. I’ve seen exotic cars and walking homeless and indigent in the same area.

If I could so bold to say, my observations could be analogous to society as a whole today.  We have this polarized social order of the “haves” and “have nots”; and in the midst of it all life goes on.

Plus, being alone with an (almost) 5-year old gives you a healthy respect for those single parents who juggle job, kid, and home.

As Carrington and I get ready to return to New Jersey, I leave Mom in the hands of the Divine and Mom’s caregivers. Two of my sisters are down here with Mom as well. If possible, I plan to see Mom again in the near future.

Those are my thoughts, and like the above psalmist, I was able to lay some wisdom on ya’

Peace from Hollywood, Florida.

Posted from WordPress for Android

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

