Makes You Think

image

As I write this on crowded roads, I’m witnessing first-hand the devastation Hurricane Sandy unleashed.  Trees uprooted all over the place, downing wires and damaging homes.  The lack of electricity for almost two days has disrupted traffic patterns and plunged millions into the dark. Nearby, in New York and Jersey City, we have flooded neighborhoods and tunnels.

It will be some time before normalcy is restored. I picked up supplies at my local Home Depot, which had limited power. Nearby grocery stores that get goods quickly get crowded with desperate consumers. It’s very crazy, to say the least.

It’s also very humbling. Makes you think how much we’re at Nature’s mercy. We think of ourselves as superior creatures, thanks to the mythology of our creation stories that put us at the top of the universe food chain. However, thanks to Sandy, we are very fragile creatures that depend on so much. Disrupt our technology and infrastructure, we can fall apart.

Imagine if these disruptions to our power and infrastructure were permanent? What if we were knocked back to the 18th Century? How would we fare then?

Update: it’s been two days since I started this post. My internet has been spotty at best. I’m at work in an alternate location due to the power being out on my building. My wife’s trying to find gas as our power’s still out. Welcome to the real world.

When you see the long lines at gas stations, and growing desperation it makes you wonder how much more could it take to push us into collective madness.

Makes you think, doesn’t it? How truly vulnerable we are.

Peace.

Posted from WordPress for Android

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Makes You Think

  1. Well said. True gratefulness only comes on the coat tails of true devastation.

Leave a Reply

