In the Face of the Coming Storm

Took this outside my house tonight-prelude to Sandy.

As you know, Hurricane Sandy’s about to start manifesting here in the Mid-Atlantic with rain starting late tonight.  If you’ve been following the news, my region of the country (including New Jersey) will get a doozy of a storm: a Category 1 hurricane colliding with a cold front, mixed in with a full moon to boost tidal action.  The rain will last until Thursday, while we’ll get the brunt of the storm on Monday.

Today, I visited my local Walmart and Home Depot to make sure my house was prepared for what nature may throw at us-especially if we should have a blackout or water gets funny.  You could see people stocking up on everything from bottled water to portable generators.  It was a crazy scene, yet people were pretty civil.  I didn’t have to wait long at the (crowded) gas station I patronize today.

I don’t know what’s going to happen in the days ahead.  Many of us here in the Northeast remember getting kicked in the butt by Hurricane Irene last August; and again by another end of October Nor’easter last October. I hope and pray that any damages will be minimal-hopefully none at all.  Also that our power will stay on; and if not, the outage will be very temporary.

This coming storm also reminds me how puny we are against nature.  As a species, we think (with faulty Biblical logic) that we can control nature.  However, I’ve learned in my 50 years on Earth that we cannot control nature (or the climate).  Nature-in essence-controls us and we’re at her mercy.

Update, Sunday 10/28.  We’re about as ready as can be. I’ll be telecommuting for the next couple of days provided the power stays on.  Also, my son has no school tomorrow.  The Metropolitan Area’s hunkering down for quite the storm.  All I can do now is hope for the best.  Follow up to come (provided nothing serious happens).

Peace.

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in environment, news, thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In the Face of the Coming Storm

  1. Nice post. I learn one thing on totally different blogs everyday. It can at all times be stimulating to read content material from other writers and apply a little something from their blog.

Leave a Reply

