We Have A Long Way To Go

“Because the poor are plundered, because the needy groan, I will now arise,” says the Lord; “I will place him in the safety for which he longs.”  Psalm 12:5 (English Standard Version)

Tonight I was in Newark’s Military Park walking back to my truck from a music program at NJPAC.  I saw people from the program standing and sitting about trying to look “fly”; while nearby I saw a homeless person sleeping on a concrete partition. I couldn’t determine the person’s gender; but I noted a stroller with (what I hope) was their possessions and not a sleeping child.

The above scene struck me because I realized how oblivious we were to our homeless friend.  Everyone-including me-were so into having our fun we didn’t realize that we didn’t regard a nameless and faceless human being that was trying to enjoy the human right of sleep and hopefully have their basic needs met.

We as a society have a long way to go in this regard.  Sometimes it’s not the policymakers with their cutting social programs who are at fault.  Lots of times it’s us-the man/woman in the street who are so busy focusing on ourselves (not our needs) that we write off our poor and needy.

Just my thoughts-take them for what they’re worth.  Peace.

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in community, life, society, thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

