Don’t Know Whether To Laugh Or Cry

My sentiments exactly on the two Presidential choices! At least we knew these cats in the photo were Stooges!

 “I will give children to be their princes,
And babes shall rule over them.
 The people will be oppressed,
Every one by another and every one by his neighbor;
The child will be insolent toward the elder,
And the base toward the honorable.”
Isaiah 3: 4-5  (New King James Version)

I’m going to make some people unhappy with what I’m about to say, however there are things that need to be said.  So please bear with me and don’t throw a brick at your monitor-thanks!

I’m not happy with the two choices for President.  Neither President Obama, nor Mitt Romney have any clear cut vision for We The People.  We all know what stuff we’ve seen under Obama’s watch, so I need not elaborate.  We also see Mitt Romney’s half-assed answers about his finances and what he has planned for America.  Their running mates are no better: Joe Biden’s going along for the ride with Obama; and Paul Ryan’s an Ayn Rand fiend.  I’ll vote for my cat quicker than these clowns!

America is in a mess.  We’re stuck in Afghanistan, people are losing homes and jobs, racism and xenophobia are still plaguing us, hard-earned pensions are going the way of the Tyrannosaurus Rex, Bush-era banksters that should be making license plates in the Big House are instead making profits and advising the White House, we have more government intrusion, more police intrusions, harsher drug laws, a crumbling wall between church and state, and the very liberties that made America being vaporized before our eyes.

I don’t know whether to laugh or cry-like the title says.  Whether to laugh at this giant “Theater of the Absurd”; or, to cry at what’s happening to our America.  Like God said to the prophet Isaiah in today’s text, we have the immature running the land.  Whatever was good is being traded off for that which is bad-even in government.  Liberty is being mortgaged to pay for oppression.  And what was honorable is being traded off for the base (crude).

I grew up watching Blacks, women, Gays/Lesbians, immigrants, and the disabled challenge the status quo to get their fair share of the American pie.  I’ve learned how people even died to make life better for the rest of us.  Now, I’m watching all that effort and work disintegrated right before my very eyes by people who said they have We The People’s interests at heart.

As a follower of Jesus, my heart is for you, We The People.  You who get up and go to work every day.  You who have families, homes, businesses, and churches to tend to.  You who at the end of the day wants that leisure time with friends and loved ones.  You who truly cares what happens to America and the world.

I feel that this Presidential election is a Three Stooges from Hell where in the end we’ll end up being the fall guys (and gals).  And as God warned, we’ll have the immature running our nation into the ground and turning it into a base and oppressive land.

God help us.  Let us be We The People and show these men we’re not amused with what’s happening to America.  And if necessary, will vote with our feet and our wallets.  And like the protesters of old, will take to the streets if necessary. We’re not laughing, and we’re tired of crying.

Peace!

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in community, economy, news, politics, society, thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

