Of Chickens and Choices

Chick-fil-A

Two men prepare to have lunch on the patio of the Chick-fil-A in Hollywood, Ca. on August 1. (Robyn Beck/Getty Images / August 2, 2012) (Courtesy Chicago Tribune)

The recent brouhaha over the comments from Chick-fil-A’s President, Dan Cathy regarding his franchise’s “support of the traditional family” and recent anti-gay stances has brought out opinions from both sides of the gay marriage fence.  Many fundagelical (fundamentalist-evangelical) Christians have come to the support of Cathy; while many on the liberal Christian side has come to the support of gays.  If you were to go on your Facebook page, you’ll see your friends voicing their opinions.

Then to ruffle feathers even more, former Arkansas governor, Mike Huckabee encouraged people to support Chick-fil-A on a “Chick-fil-A Appreciation Day” on August 1st.  The chain had record sales that day.  Also many Christian bloggers and Facebook posters gave their support to the day and to the chain.

My two cents?  Dan Cathy has a right to his statements-this is America and he does have the right to express his views on marriage he believes is right.  Also, Cathy and his company has been willing to take whatever heat his remarks generated.  At this writing, Chick-fil-A’s approval ratings have plummeted despite its success on August 1st.  Now we’re hearing talks of Jim Henson’s Company pulling out of Chick-fil-A, mayors calling for the franchise not to open in their towns, and even up here at NYU, students calling for the franchise to be removed from the campus.  Cathy made his choice, now he’s got to live with it-“guilty as charged” as he put it.

However, as one who supports gay marriage I find Cathy’s comments representative of a Christianity that does not represent Christ.  If we look at the Bible, it’s very scant on gay relations. And Jesus was very silent about it during his ministry.  It’s no secret that Chick-fil-A’s been taken to task about its donations to anti-gay organizations. To me-especially as a African-American-this smacks of those “good Christians” that spoke against Civil Rights back during the Movement.

Also, did you notice that Cathy stated, “biblically based principles”, not “Christ-based principles”?  Hmm…it’s easier to pull out the punitive laws of the Old Testament when it serves people, than it is to bring out the love of Christ.  It appears that Cathy’s putting the Bible over Jesus; putting the “Law” over Grace.  In fact, Paul warns us that if we keep putting the Law over Grace, then the cross is null and void.  Paul is saying that we might as well kick Jesus and his “low of love” out the door, for the work Jesus did is moot.  It’s our choice: Law or Grace.

I chose not to be a chicken and gave you my side.  I haven’t eaten at a Chick-fil-A; and knew about their being Fundamentalist long before the recent dust up.  Now that Dan Cathy choice to air his views about gays, I chose not to patronize his franchises.  I choose Grace and the “Law of Love” over the Law.  I choose to follow Christ, not be a chicken Pharisee.

If you, Dear Reader, decide to support Dan Cathy and his franchise-that’s your right and I ain’t mad at ya’.  If you disagree with me, cool!  Just don’t be disagreeable.  On the other hand, if you agree with me and think Cathy and Company need to get their act together that’s fine too.

In the end, it’s your choice.  Just don’t be a chicken

Peace!

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in Christianity, news, relationships, thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Of Chickens and Choices

  1. savedbygrace says:

    we are exorcise about immorality. we care less when preachers preach on morality.

    but when the true gospel (grace) is not preached, we too care less.
    for us, morality is more important than grace, as most of us think “grace is a license to sin”

    well, you are right. when you said and quoted Galatians “Christ is made of NO EFFECT whomsoever among us is trying to be justified by the Law”

    if we can stand on either side – Left or Right – regarding this same sex marriage hype
    (as if church members are going to marry the same sex? will they? lets see!)
    why can’t we stand against those “false preachers” who preaches morality in the church?

    the gospel has been replaced by morality. Grace is the gospel. anything else preached is not the gospel.

    what is currently happening is a sign that the gospel is not really preached.
    in Titus it says “Grace teaches us godliness”

    now, I am not against morality. morality is the result of the gospel.
    the antidote to sin is not ‘the law’ or ‘Morality’.
    the only antidote to sin is Grace. Grace alone.

    “For Sin shall have no dominion over you for you are not under Law but Grace”
    – Romans 6:14

    the one that will survive the judgement day of God, is the one whom Jesus represents.
    the one whom their faith is rested in Jesus. no good works involve, no morality involved,
    not as a result of love your neighbor, not as a result of obedience to the Law.
    but only by Faith in Jesus. the one who is substituted by Christ. amen.

    – grace and peace

  2. I’m about to do an about-face and visit a Chick-Fil-A. Despite my posting, I realize that I’m allowing one’s views to stop me from enjoying what I hear is a good meal. Also, as an African-American, I’ve patronized businesses that at one time did not want to cater to us.

    Although I still believe in GLTBQ rights, I believe that I have to be the higher of the two when it comes to dealing with the company. Besides, God has still “patronized” me when I didn’t support Him/Her.

    I know there are folks who may not like this, or will call me a “turncoat”. However, it is what it is. Peace!

Leave a Reply

