No Explanation

Usually I don’t post about the following, but it’s been on my heart all evening and I need to get it out.  I also usually would have a passage of Scripture and a themed photograph, however I have neither tonight.

Today at the office was a pretty routine day.  I did my best to cope with the incessant drizzle that precluded many an outdoor activity.  My work was going along rather smoothly…

Then after 4:00 one of my co-workers informed us that another co-worker fell to their death in the main atrium of our building from the 3rd (top) Floor to the Garden Level-a total of four floors.  Naturally we were shocked and horrified at what happened; many of us were creeped out at the incident.  We asked what caused their fall-was it an accident, faulty railings?  Or was it either suicide or foul play?

When I left (early) for home, the police and coroner were at the building.  The section of the building where the fall occurred was sealed off with yellow “CAUTION” tape.  I was rather numb from this, a feeling I haven’t had since my Dad died last August.  I tried to wrestle with what happened as I drove home this evening.  There will be questions on what really happened in the days ahead, to which we’ll probably we’ll have our answer.  Those of you who live in my neck of the woods will probably hear about it in the news.  I’m also not describing the deceased out of respect.

But despite the final verdict, there really is no explanation to a sudden and tragic death like this.  It doesn’t make sense-especially in what is supposed to be a safe environment-the workplace.  We hear about tragedies like this happening in other places that we read or watch on the news.  We never think about stuff like this hitting close to home.  We have no reasons that we can wrap our minds around. For the deceased’s family and close colleagues, there’ll be no easy answers.  For those of us at the office, we’ll still try to find a reason why this happened.

There will be things in life that will have no explanation: a sudden death; and untimely illness; someone close to us walking out on us; a job loss…the list is endless.  We want to explain these things to give us a sense of certainty, but we cannot.  All we can do is accept-not agree-with these things, knowing that they too will come to pass.  Also, God will give us the grace and strength to make it through.

My prayers are with the deceased’s family and loved ones, as well as those of my colleagues who’ve worked close with them.

Peace.

Update: per report from NJ.com this morning, the individual jumped to their death yesterday; no reasons given what prompted the jump. The decreased left behind a spouse and children. So sad.

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in life, thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

