Running Thoughts III: Discouragement

My son, Carrington exhibiting perseverance in its purest form! (Image by Me)

And let us not grow weary while doing good, for in due season we shall reap if we do not lose heart.  Galatians 6:9 

I press toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.  Philippians 3:14 
(Both passages from the New King James Version) 

It’s easy to get discouraged.  Today at work, I had my gym gear packed for a lunchtime run.  However, I was tired due to falling asleep late and it was hot and hazy out.  I did take a light “jog” – if you want to call it that – after work this evening.  I felt myself winded and I knew that I’m going to need God’s help to be able to run/jog again.  I put so much weight on that I’m overworking my (usually healthy) lungs.

I feel sad because I remember a time that running for me was nothing, it was natural for me.  I knew I put on 55-60 pounds since I stopped running-especially in the last couple of years.  I thought to myself, “My God, how am I going to take this weight off?”  It’s easy to get angry and blame others-especially my responsibilities at home and elsewhere, since they’ve impacted my running time.  But that would be passing the buck and caving into my ego.

However, the above verse from Galatians came to mind.  This helped since a part of me started to say, “Why bother?  Just get bigger clothes and learn to live with the weight”.  But, I know such talk is not me; and there are those who’ve been on this path (and worse) who’ve managed to get back on track and become healthier individuals.  If I do give up, what good would I be to God, myself, my family, and my loved ones?  How can I take care of that which was put in my hands if I give up before I start?  How can I be fit for the Divine’s service, or my own life if I give up?

It’s going to take time, but the verse of Philippians came to mind.  Paul knew that his endeavors will have heartache and struggle, yet he pressed on.  Like Paul I have to know that God will see me, and bring me, through this if I trust Him/Her.

This will also call for some sacrifice-especially time from home.  However to attain something, we must let go of something.  This may call for my altering my sleep schedule to fit my running lifestyle.  It may mean having to make time after work or even during lunch.

I have to keep pushing.  I cannot let discouragement into my heart, for that will stop me before I start.  If I don’t have the courage to start, then I am finished before I start and take whatever life throws at me.  However if I take the courage to start, and stay the course, I will eventually come to a healthy and realistic weight.  No, I won’t be super thin by my birthday (next month), or by this Christmas.  However, I have to be persistent and trust God in the process.  I’ll be where I need to be where I can be healthy and enjoy the life God gives me.

So if you feel discouraged and are ready to toss in the towel, and feel like you won’t succeed, remember it’s going to take time, effort, and perseverance.  Remember the above Scriptures.  And in the end, God will help you achieve that which you strive for.

Peace!

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in growth, life, running, thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

