The Depth of God’s Mercy

Morning By Morning... (Image by Me)

The LORD is merciful and compassionate,
slow to get angry and filled with unfailing love. The LORD is good to everyone.  He showers compassion on all his creation. Psalm 145:8-9 (New Living Translation)

This post may appear preachy, but there’s a lot God says to you that needs to be posted.

Say what you will, but I still find God’s loving mercies amazing. For a species that has dogged its environment, amassed wealth for the few at the expense of the many, refines the art of killing whole populations rather than feeding them, and a whole host of other ills; God has been very merciful to us.

You think about it: God and His/Her love towards us. As the songwriter said, “Morning by morning, new mercies I see.”  We never stop to think how God’s mercy has kept us-collectively and individually.  I’m not talking about some punitive God we read about in Scripture (cobbled by the writers’ culture and time), but a compassionate One who longs to be truly one with us.  And it’s because of His/Her longing, that Divine mercy abounds.

In my own life, I know that God’s mercies kept me from slipping.  It was His/Her Spirit inside me that keeps me when I know I should have flipped out and gone “postal”.  And it was that same mercy that kept me from running myself into the ground in my younger (and really carefree) days when all I did care about was “wine, women and song”.

As a species, God’s really doled out the mercy tickets on us.  Remember, homo sapiens is just a blip on the evolutionary timeline-just 250,000 years!  We could have easy went the way of prior species long ago-especially after we developed the Bomb and biological weapons.  With the present environmental issues, socio-economic woes, and playing chicken with viruses, you know Divine mercy’s been keeping civilization from going into the litter box of history.

To look at all that shows a very merciful God full of Divine love.  And it’s this mercy that I see in my life and in my world every day.

Thank you God for your loving mercy!  Let us grow into Your place where we can show that same mercy on each other.  Then it’ll all be good!

Peace!

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in life, spirituality, thoughts, world and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

