This Is The End

Back in September, I wrote a post titled, “Is This The End?” which I gave my take on humanity’s possible ending with three possible thoughts.  I first discussed our cultural fascination with “The End” was a collective coping mechanism in light of today’s problems in the world-especially among Christian Fundamentalists.  I then discussed that there are those who look to the end as a “restart” button for humanity-a distressing attitude if you ask me.  However, I found myself leaning on the third take:

Third, it might not be a literal end.  It could be the end of an age, an attitude.  Think about here in the US with these fundagelicals running scared trying to gobble up seats of power.  We’re witnessing changes in the spiritual world where organized religion’s losing steam.  Institutions set up to serve predominately White males are getting overhauled by women and non-Whites.  Non-heterosexual and non-monogamous sexuality’s gaining respect.  The norms and values of our parents’ generation are dying off with them.  We could be witnessing the dawn of a new collective consciousness; dare I say, theosis?  God infusing us to make us one with Him/Her? Like Christ?  Maybe the end that the ancients spoke of is more spiritual rather than physical.

I also did my prior post, “Don’t Cry For Me” in light of Whitney Houston’s recent passing and the passing of “business as usual” for our world  It’s that post and the quote above that is the basis of this post.  I believe that those things we’ve taken for granted-things that are “supposed” to be-won’t be around in the not too distant future. Ultimately, I see a convergence of events and attitudes that will shake us to the very core and test us as a species.  How we respond may very well determine how the future will turn out for us.

Over the upcoming posts, I will discuss my take on what “The End” will truly be-based on my thoughts above.  I could be wrong and I’m not a professional futurist.  In fact, as a photographer I capture the present that may be viewed in the future.  Hence, in that spirit, I will “capture” what’s happening now and how it will impact the upcoming future and ending “business as usual” for us.

Stay tuned!

Peace.

 

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in news, thoughts, world. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

