Creativity and Sex

Creativity means paying attention to life's little details!

She calls me at any time.  Like a lover, She’s ever close and will appear when I least expect Her.  She’s bold enough to call me at work, at church, in my car, even when I’m with family-She doesn’t care.  She’s always there, however, when I answer.  When we get together, we have beautiful times together-even if others may not think so.  However, when I ignore her I feel an emptiness inside that gnaws on my spirit.  When I ignore her too long, I go through a spiritual withdrawal that only those who know what I’m talking about will understand.

She is Creativity.  Call her what you want: Muse, Creative Call, or what I call Her, the Divine Erotic Creative Power.  Creativity is my lover.  Yes, I’m married and love my wife.  However, Creativity and I were together long before my wife and I met; and today She’s going nowhere.  We’re very intimate and know each other in ways that any woman I was with couldn’t.  And I’ve been a photographer for about 30 years, so please trust me on this one!

Creativity and sex are more alike than different.  How? Please read on:

You see, both require one’s complete attention; you cannot attend to your art or your lover and be distracted.  Just like you and your beloved need time to be alone sexually, you need time alone with your art.  In fact, both can put you in a state where you lose track of time and ignore the nonsense around you.  And like a sexual lover, Creativity will call you at the craziest times; however you must answer!

Both require love:  you have to love your art as well as love the one you’re with intimately. Without love, you are just “doing” instead of being-having a shell of what your trying to create, which ends up being shallow and cheap.

Both are a creation in progress.  People make love, or whoopee (as the old song says), or are creating a place in their relationship.  Creativity helps you create a new image, song, process, etc.

Both can be spontaneous or planned.  Many people have enjoyed “sex on the fly” as well as enjoying a planned rendezvous together.  Creativity’s the same: you can have an idea hit you right there; and in my case, I had my camera or cameraphone with me.  Or you can plan a creative trip, which in my case is a day with the camera.

Both call for vulnerability.  When people engage in sex, they expose themselves to each other.  When you create, you open yourself up to Creativity’s Muse/Spirit/Power.  You also relinquish the ego, and the habit of trying to “direct” things.

Both are needed for a healthy life.  A healthy sex life rounds one out and have physical and mental health benefits.  Creativity also rounds one out.  Creativity also keeps one’s mind sharp and fresh.  Lack of both can be depressing, can make one feel isolated and deprived, and can cause one to seek less beneficial behaviors.

And last, both are a holy act.  Each brings out the Divine.  Sexuality is engagement and worship. Creativity is the act of creating.  And in these times, you get to know yourself as well, which is a holy act to me too.

Even as I write this post, my Lover is here with me-encouraging me, whispering her words in my ear, wrapping her arms around me and playfully nuzzling me.

Now go out there and make something wonderful!

Peace!

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in creativity, life, sex, thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

