What I Believe: Revolutionary/Contrarian

In honor of the Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., a revolutionary and contrarian in the spirit of Jesus and Gandhi.

The year 2011 was quite a revolutionary year.  From Cairo, to Amman, to London, and ending the year in any city where #Occupy camped out; people defied old orders and began to express and explore new ways of looking at things.  In the same vein, we saw contrarian attitudes being expressed all over the place-both in the above situations and throughout our world as people went against
the grain of conventional wisdom.  We even said goodbye to a creative contrarian, Steve Jobs.

I believe in breaking the rules.  To eject any job/relationship/habit/way of thinking that don’t serve my higher good.  I believe in expressing the wild Divine Erotic Creative power in me.  I believe in shaking things up and rearranging the furniture.  To break the rules and live dangerously from the heart – the way God wants me to live.

I also believe in going against the grain at times.  To be the “minority” that opposes the “majority” no matter what it may cost me.  To be true to who and what I am, I will have to be the contrarian and stick to my guns.

Too many of us settle for the “same old, same old” although we’re sick and tired of it not serving our highest good.  We stay at that job that doesn’t pay enough and is a professional dead end.  We stay with that significant other or friend who doesn’t help us grow, and are going nowhere fast.  We have habits and thinking we need to jettison but don’t, causing us to keep alive old patterns that need to have died long ago.

Jesus spoke truth to power: political and ecclesiastical. Gandhi went up against generations of British colonial rule in his India. Dr. King spoke against generations of racism in America, along with economic disparity and the Vietnam Conflict. All three men risked it all, but knew the price would have been higher if nothing was done.

Be a Revolutionary, overthrow that which does not serve your highest good. Be a Contrarian and go against the grain, even when it costs you.

Peace!

Posted from WordPress for Android

Posted from WordPress for Android

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in life, politics, thoughts, world and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

