What I Believe: Freethinker

I believe in being a Freethinker. To think my own thoughts. As a Christian, I can make up my own mind about my relationship with the Divine without an intermediary-human or Bible. Not to knock the preacher, or the Bible-I thank God for such resources. However, for me to grow, I have to think for myself as well.  And when necessary, to voice my own opinions.

Even on dealing with the day to day of life, and with the world.  Too often, we’re told to think a certain way and to act a certain way. I will stand my ground and be a Freethinker. I can trust my heart and mind, which God gave me. My intuition, the Divine within me, will guide and direct me.

I believe being a Freethinker opens up my mind to new thoughts and ideas.  It jolts me out of any potentially “rut” thinking.  Over the years on my Christian road trip, I’ve constantly shaped and re-shaped my thought regarding this trip.  Things I used to wholeheartedly believe in I now do less and less (the Creation, End Times doctrine, Virgin Birth, original sin); while things I would have denounced back in the day I now consider (Evolution, legitimacy of LGBT relationships, Original Blessing [thank you Matthew Fox], the inter-connectivity of nature and humankind, the fallible Bible).

Freethinking keeps us open and alive.  Plus, it keeps us connected to the Divine through honesty and rational thought.  This is not killing the creative or intuitive-no.  What it is, is that it opens the mind up to new possibilities based on our own God-given powers.

Be a Freethinker once in a while.  May do you some good!

Peace!

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in Christianity, heretics/heretical thinking, life, thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What I Believe: Freethinker

  1. grampachiefy says:

    I see your point. Thinking clearly about reality is always dangerous to traditional ways. I would say that restricting your thinking in order to remain within “safe” boundaries is the truly dangerous thing, because it shapes the way you see the world. In other words, limiting your thinking causes you to misinterpret what you experience, right?

Leave a Reply

