What I Believe: Celebration and Dance

There are two kinds of people in this Universe: those who get out on the dance floor and dance; and, those who stand on the sides and just watch.  Me.

It’s Friday baby!  Woo-hoo!  It’s party time!  I believe in celebrating life.  I love a mean party, and to dance my ass off.

Life is a celebration-despite all its challenges.  We don’t have the time or luxury to sit on our asses and hold one long funeral.  Celebrate life and its blessings: big, small, and even those you might think are “insignificant”.  Many in this world would give anything to be able to do that.

Jesus equated the Kingdom of God to a lavish banquet open to all.  It’s no surprise that the first of Jesus’s miracles was changing water into wine at the wedding in Cana.  In fact, the Divine is celebrating every time He/She is creating in the Universe.

Worshiping the Divine is celebrating Her, just as lovers celebrate each other in lovemaking.  The medieval writers equated worship with lovemaking.  Something for us “moderns” to think about.

We celebrate or life passages: birth, birthdays, graduations, promotions, marriages, retirements, appointments, even the lives of our dearly departed at homegoing services.

Dance is a part of celebration.  I love to dance and move my body to the music-wherever it comes from.  Even the music in our heads can move us to move.  Dance allows us to creatively expend energies trapped up inside us.  Dance is worship-like Christian liturgical dancers and Muslim Whirling Dervishes.  Dance is creativity-like you see at the recital or on stage in its various forms.  It’s cultural-belly dancing, hula, African, Native American and Capoeira.  It’s for celebration, fun and even attraction as on the dance floor.  Dance moves us in tune with the Divine vibe.

When I dance, I free my body to be in sync with the vibe that I’m catching.  I love to move my body and dance my celebration and party on.  Like I said in “Sexuality”, I love the body and what you can do with it-that includes dancing.  I love to workout on the dance floor, expending my energy to the music in a fun and erotic way.

We need to get off the wall of life and get on the dance floor to shake our stuff in celebration.  Wherever you are: celebrate life and dance your celebration!

Peace!

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in life, thoughts, worship and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

