What I Believe: Boldness/Outrageousness and Openness/Open-Mindedness

Today I am posting two of my core values/beliefs together due to their tying into each other.

First is Boldness and Outrageousness. I have to brash and bold in life. To live unapologetically and unashamed.  In the words of Billie Holliday, “Ain’t nobody’s business if I do.” I no longer choose to live “right” to please some anal-retentive and joyless idiot-I’ve done enough of that coming up just to please others and paid big-time for it!

I’ve grown to learn that life’s not the place to clam up, be passive, and docile. I have to let out, even if others don’t like it.  I have to be bold and audacious; even a little disruptive at times.  What if Jesus, Ghandi, King and the Occupy movement weren’t bold, audacious and disruptive?  History would have been different for the worse.

Also I value living outrageous. Be yourself and live from the heart. Stop trying to live to please others; I’ve done out for years and it caused me grief. Now, I choose to live Me.  One of the best ways of being outrageous is to “strut my stuff” by tooting my own horn.  Live Me, be Me, do Me.  I’m not advocating selfishness at the expense of others-no way.  But to come out of my closet and say, “Look out world, here I come!” won’t hurt anyone!

Second is Openness and Openmindedness.  I desire honesty and openness.  Please come to me “straight, no chaser”.  Even if I don’t like what you come to me with, as long as it’s not detrimental or disrespectful, I’ll respect it.  I hate subterfuge and window-dressing.

I value an open mind.  I love to entertain new thoughts and ideas.  I try to consider other points of view, even if I may not agree with them.  I also explore other avenues-even things totally different than what I’m used to.  Life’s not for being “stuck on stupid”.

Peace!

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in life, thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

