What I Believe: Fun, Joy, and Playfulness

To me, Fun Joy, and Playfulness all stem from the Divine.  Surprised I said that?  Of course, Christianity too long portrayed God as some “Big Guy in the Sky” frowning as if someone made a crack about His Mama.  But I truly believe that God knows how to have fun, is joy, and can be downright playful.

Look at the first belief: Fun.  Ben an Jerry’s Ice Cream put it right, “If it’s not fun, why do it?”  Life, at times, needs to be fun.  Fun allows me to enjoy life in the moment; a perfect counterbalance to the day to day issues I must contend with.  As a husband and father with a ton of responsibilities, I need to have fun times so I can keep my head on straight.  Whether alone or with others, having fun allows me to breathe and touch my humanity.  

Second belief: Joy.  Too often you hear “joy” being overworked in our churches to the point that it loses its meaning and becomes trivial and “sticky-sweet”.  To me, Joy is what the Divine places in each and every one of us so that we’ll have a blessed center that keeps us in the good and bad times.  Joy is that internal fullness that is not contingent upon events or external sources; as the song says, “the world didn’t give it, and the world can’t take it away.”  In fact (to me), it’s one of those Divine things that we cannot fully explain; we can only experience it.

My third belief in this post is Playfulness.  I love being playful.  Not just participating in a game, but having a playful spirit at times.  Play keeps me young and in touch with myself and the Universe.  Play also ties into Christ’s admonition about being like “little children” and learning how to be playful and play.  Too often we get “adult” and age prematurely when lose our childlike playfulness.  When I am creating photographs, I play.  When I interact with the Universe on a hike, I play.

Now, don’t get me wrong. Life has its serious side and there are times when we are called upon to do things that might be unpleasant.  Plus, there is still a lot of pain and misery in our world.  However, these three beliefs are balancing agents that help me stay focused, and realized that the world is still a good place and that the Universe is still good.

Go out there and have some Fun, live with Joy, and have a sense of Playfulness.  You just might help make the world a better place!

Peace!

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in life, thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

