What I Believe: Spirituality: Mystery; Transcendence; and Wonder

These beliefs are the foundation of my spiritual life.  Rather appropriate that I do this post on a Sunday.

True fellowship with the Divine encompasses these four beliefs. I desire Spirituality over “religion”.  True Spirituality is living and fluid, whereas religion is dry and stifling. To behold the Divine Unknown and gaze into Her eternal loving eyes.  To transcend myself and see the Divine just over the threshold. To behold the wonder of the Universe and beyond as She takes my hand and leads me to Her world. To lose myself in Her beauty as She whispers, “Come lover….” To go beyond….  To have communion with the Divine all the time (not just on First Sunday either).

With Spirituality comes the Mystery of the Divine. No religion or book can fully describe the Divine. I desire Mystery over the mundane. I desire blessed surprises over predictability.  The Christian journey is a road trip with its myriad of turns, stops, and adventures along the way.  God is mysterious and cannot be totally fathomed.  Thanks to our organized religions, we’ve crammed Him/Her into a “holy book” written by men of limited knowledge and expect God to act according to those writings so we don’t have to face the mystery of God.  Mystery of the Divine however has birthed those intrepid souls called mystics: be they Christian Mystics; Muslim Sufis, or Jewish Kabbalists.  This Mystery is what keeps us in awe of the Divine.

I seek Transcendence in my spiritual life. I desire to “go where no one has gone before” with my Divine Beloved. To jettison the self with its egoistic issues and become one with Her.  To me, Spirituality isn’t about being a “good” boy who follows a set of rules, but living a live that transcends all the baggage that weighs me down.  As I said earlier, it is to go beyond myself and unite with the Divine.  I see it sometimes when people are genuinely “filled with the Spirit,” where dance and ecstasy are involved.  To me, it’s not about “whoop and holler”, but an altered state that allows communion with the Divine at a whole different level.  I’ve seen it at church when the saints are in total praise and communion with the Divine; you feel another reality in the place.  It’s also with the Whirling Dervishes, the incense and chants in Christianity, or in simple meditation.

With the Mystery and Transcendence in my Spirituality, I live and believe on living with, Wonder. I don’t desire a, “been there, done that” religion which is endemic in Western religion.  To me, all that God does is amazing: the vastness of the Universe, how He/She is in and through everything from the biggest galaxies to the smallest sub-atomic and microscopic items (yes, call me a Panentheist).  How God even pervades the “dark matter” where nothing exists.  God is everything and nothing.  God is the all, and also the void at the same time.  Just trying to wrap my finite mind around it blows my mind at the same time.  Just simply, God is.

All this ultimately intercourses me with the Divine, allowing theosis in my life now-not in the “sweet bye and bye”-where the Divine flows through me.  In turn, I can truly interact with the Universe and the myriad souls in it.

Peace!

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in Christianity, church, heretics/heretical thinking, mysticism, thoughts, worship and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

