What I Believe: Creativity

As a photographer and writer, I need to express my God-given creativity.  We all are co-creators with the Divine whether we realize it or not. In fact, we take part in the creative process-no matter how small our part may seem-when we create. It’s so important to express that creative gift: whether it’s music, visual arts, dance, spoken or written word, the culinary arts-whatever.

I’ve always loved to draw, and to imagine stories ever since I was a kid. This love later evolved into my present photography, blogging, and creative writing. As my first creative love being photography, I’d rather create photos than eat when I’m hungry, or make love when I’m in the mood. In fact, when I do create, I feed my soul its “food”; and”make love” (or become one with) the art.

Taking a page from Episcopalian priest, Matthew Fox, this is the spiritual path of the Via Creativa-the “Creative Way” of befriending creativity and befriending our divinity. As I stated earlier, we participate as co-creators with the Divine when we create. In fact, God’s still creating-even after 14 billion years; He/She is still at work!

Unfortunately, our society is sorely lacking in creativity. In fact, we do more un-creating than creating.  We cut arts and music funding on our schools, yet push athletics. We have representatives that want to kill the National Endowment for the Arts, but at the same time, fatten the Pentagon’s budget. In my own experience, I’ve seen local arts groups begging county governments for funding, yet law enforcement and certain”pet projects” get first dibs.

Even the Church is at fault.  I see where creativity is not mentioned as much as it could.  Yes, there are a couple of good books on the market, however I find the Church-save in ethnic communities-woefully silent.  The only exceptions noted are the Catholic and Eastern Orthodox churches; noted for their iconic imagery, sweeping cathedrals, and worship rituals.

We are born creative, full of the Divine Erotic Primal Creative Energy that created the universe as children. However, by the time we reach adulthood that energy is squelched by our parents, teachers, clergy and other elder authority figures that believe they’re looking out for our best interest. We’re taught that only a “few” can be creative, instead of all of us, and that we should pursue “more serious” endeavors. If one’s fortunate to have that energy stoked and nurtured by their elders, that’s a rare and blessed bird.

When we create, we become one with the Divine-imitating and partnering with Him/Her. For the Divine Erotic Primal Creative Energy is alive in each of us, ready to be expressed.

This is a lengthy post, but Creativity is very big in my life as a belief and core value. In creating we become God in new and exciting ways-after all we are made in God’s image!

To close, I want to leave this quote from the musical Rent, “The opposite of war isn’t peace, it’s creation”.

May the Divine Erotic Primal Creative Energy empower you to be co-creators with the Divine, transforming our world, and thus bringing forth the Kingdom of God here on Earth.

Amen. Now go in peace.

Note: thanks to Rev. Carl Gregg and his sermon, “The Artist’s Way for Advent: Matthew Fox’s ‘ Via Creativa'”.

Posted from WordPress for Android

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in creativity, life, thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

