Again?

Bullwinkle pulls Rocky out of the hat! Copyrighted image

You remember this famous dialogue from Rocky and Bullwinkle:

Bullwinkle: “Hey Rocky! Watch me pull a rabbit out of my hat!”
Rocky: “Again?”

And of course, Bullwinkle reaches into his hat and pulls out something other than his rabbit!

Like Bullwinkle, Family Radio’s Harold Camping is trying to pull another end-times rabbit out of his hat.  To which we reply, “Again?”

Remember back in May, Camping predicted that the world would come to an end on May 21st?  And it didn’t come to pass?  Now Camping’s saying that the world is coming to an end on…oh my, it’s supposed to be today: October 21st!

This is not the first, nor the second time that Harold Camping said it would be “Game Over” for humanity.  Camping wrote the book 1994? back in the early 90s (I saw it at a B. Dalton’s bookstore in Livingston Mall), which stated the end would come in 1994 (the only real big thing in 1994 was that my wife and I closed on our house).  Then of course, his famous “prediction” back in May.  Maybe Camping feels that (eschatology-wise) that the third time will be the charm.  And to think, I used to listen to the cat on the radio back in the day.

Camping’s “predictions”-and others like him in church history-gives Christianity a black eye that can take a long time to heal, if ever.  With organized religion losing steam in the First World, such end-times nonsense only adds to hasten its demise.  Any true prophetic voice gets lost in the shrill din that gets media attention, and is unfairly lumped together with such noise.  In the end, Christ gets lost in the confusion; and Christianity has no answers anymore.

I believe that the world will end when God says it will, which is probably around 5 billion years from now when the Sun expands, becomes a Red Giant, and engulfs our world (unless we beat God to the punch beforehand).  By then, Camping and the rest of us will be faded memories to our distant descendants who’ll be trying to get the hell out of Dodge before they get barbecued.

So about today being the “Big Day”, I really don’t care; and I take no stock in Camping’s “predictions”.  I plan to live fully and love wastefully like Jesus (per John Shelby Spong) today and every day after, as long as God gives me.  If I should be around when it’s all over, I will be able to say that I lived the best I could; and that’s what God would expect of me.

If humanity’s still around when I finally check out of here, all the better.  I hoped to have lived the best I could with authenticity and love-like Jesus did.

By the way.  If this blog post somehow gets preserved, becomes part of humanity’s collective memory in the very distant future, and is beamed to some new world when ours finally dies by solar expansion, I hope my distant descendants will know that their distant ancestor in the 21st Century CE was a voice of reason.

Peace!

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in Christianity, heretics/heretical thinking, news, thoughts, world and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

