Ten Years Ago Today

It was a beautiful Tuesday morning to what I tonight would be an uneventful day.  My main focus at the time was my wife, Crystal’s chemotherapy treatments for breast cancer. Little did I know….

I was at work when the world changed. I was listening to the radio in my office at work when news of the first plane striking the World Trade Center was announced. I called Crystal, telling her that some nut crashed their plane into the complex. At that moment, I thought it was a small craft that hit. It was moments later I realized that it was more than that.

All day our eyes and ears were on the news. Work that day came to a grinding halt.

I remember walking down Main Street in Orange during my lunch break. Usually alive end with lunchtime bustle and up the radios playing the popular tunes of the day; an eerie quietness pervaded while radios provided continous coverage of the incident. In the east, I can see the smoke rising from the World Trade Center.

My younger sister, Miriam was in the Washington, DC area when the Pentagon was struck-thank God she read okay. She was sent home (she worked for the Government at that time). She and my mother called to make sure I was okay since I would go to Manhattan a lot. In fact, I was at the World Trade Center just recently.

I was sent home early due to the attacks. The days after were, at best, nebulous…

I saw “Ground Zero” myself, and was shocked my the magnitude of destruction done. Our house painter was doing our house during the day, and then would go to Ground Zero to help.

September 11, 2001 changed many a life. The world tried to retain some semblance of normalcy. Thank God, Crystal would end her chemo and subsequent radiation treatments.

But for others, the world would change.  Due to a decrease in work thanks to the attacks, I was laid off the following May. We invaded Afghanistan-and later Iraq-and are still there with thousands of lives lost or damaged. Even now, as we commemorate the 10th anniversary of that infamous day, we still feel the effects of that day.

Originally I was not going to do a, “where were you when…”. I did the post,”Remember” days ago.  However, there are times when one has to add their voice about that day.

May the Divine keep us now and in the future.

Peace.

Posted from WordPress for Android

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in life, news, thoughts, world and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

