Time to Grow Up

“When I was an infant at my mother’s breast, I gurgled and cooed like any infant. When I grew up, I left those infant ways for good.” 1 Corinthians 13:11 (The Message)

It’s time to grow up.

I’m starting to see my faith going through changes. I’m growing away from the childlike faith I embraced where I “leaned” on God and expected Him/Her to do it all as some celestial Daddy/Mommy Warbucks, James Bond, and/or Mr/Ms Fix-It. I am seeing a more expanded, cosmic view of God that empowers me to live fully and love wastefully; and to face life responsibly.

I believe that the Cosmic Christ called us to stand up on our own two feet as humans, not to depend on religion or its myriad of spokespeople.  Too long, I’ve “leaned on Jesus” and expected Him to do it all.  I never trusted my own inherent goodness I believed the Divine gave me.    I thought since I was a “worthless sinner” who couldn’t do/think/feel/say anything right, I needed a “sinless” Jesus.  I also believed everything was “God’s will” and that I couldn’t move without His say so.  Or I would consult those I felt were more “faithful” than I was.

I also felt that God was the celestial Daddy/Mommy Warbucks that would give me everything I wanted.  I believed since I was “saved,” I was entitled to “name and claim” all that God supposedly had for me by “laying hands” on what I wanted, or speaking it into existence.  This has caused me to be dependent , indolent at times, and lacking initiative. Instead, I can be taking action in my life and accepting full responsibility for whatever happens.

I’ve also learned that the Divine is not some celestial “James Bond”, coming to rescue me at the nick of time. Sometimes shit happens and all you can do is your very best to deal with it. Sorry kids, but God’s not going to rescue you. Maybe that revelation will teach us to treat life more reverently, and to come off our religious high horses.

And last, I’m learning that God isn’t going to “fix” our problems. God’s not going to”bless our mess”- whether we make it or not. Maybe God is looking for us to handle our business and fix it ourselves.

God, I believe, is looking for us to grow up (me included) and mature as a species. He/She/It has not finely crafted us over millions of years of evolution just for us to stay immature in childish and superstitious belief systems that endanger the race.

Thoughts like these will new further expanded on this blog.

For now, let me say it’s time to grow up.

Peace!

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in Christianity, heretics/heretical thinking, life, thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

