To and Fro

image

Many shall run to and fro, and knowledge shall increase.
Daniel 12:4(b) (English Standard Version)

Woo-hoo!  My first post for 2013!  Hope you all had a blessed Holiday and that the New Year’s treating you good so far.

I am amazed at our mobile age.  Today, I can write my blog posts from my Droid smartphone and include an illustrative photo taken with my Droid’s camera; one recent example was, “Makes You Think” from November 2, 2012.  This is a far cry from 2007, when this blog had its first iteration, I had to pen my thoughts in my journal, and then transcribe them to the site via my PC.  Any images I incorporated were camera images I’ve previously uploaded from “traditional” cameras or CDs into my hard drive.

And what I’ve read for 2013 shows that the mobile trend is not stopping any time soon.  Thanks to smartphones, tablets such as the iPad, Galaxy Tab, the new tablet PCs, and the social media boom, we’re becoming a more mobile society.  I can now send blanket texts, IMs (instant messages) or Facebook posts rather than make millions of calls or send out letters.  Instead of mailing hardcopies of photos to loved ones, I can either e-mail them or put them on a sharing site such as Flickr.

You go to airports and you see “ports”-electric outlets where you can plug in a laptop, smartphone or tablet while waiting.  You can go to a local establishment or lodge where they offer free WI-FI (wireless fidelity) for your device.  Even cars are rigged for mobile devices with everything from 12-volt outlets to dashboard systems for the driver’s use.

Our mobile age is giving us the ability to move about untethered to place and time.  Now, we can communicate across the globe 24/7 from anywhere.

However, are we any closer to each other as fellow humans? Are we truly “connecting” with each other? Are we using our new found ability to “go mobile and global” to explore and learn more about our world and ourselves?

Or are we just “going to and fro” without truly taking the time to learn about each other? Our mobility blessing could become a curse as we become so engrossed in what we’re doing that we forget our neighbors. My concern is that our mobile culture can cause us to become fragmented and separated at a time where we need to come together.

I welcome the new mobility and how it could positively impact our world. Let’s make sure we truly “stay connected” as we go to and fro.

Peace!

About dangerouschristian

My name is Victor Reynolds. I'm a Christian who desires a more mystical approach to my spiritual life. I'm also a photographer as well who loves to create. I call myself "dangerous" because anyone-especially a Christian-who dares to be beyond the "norm" and allows to let the Christ live in them is dangerous.
This entry was posted in society, thoughts, world. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

